Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the cooperative. They set strategic directions for Prairie Roots, monitor the financial health of the co-op, set policies that reflect our shared values, and employ the General Manager. The board will supervise the General Manager, but will not run the day to day operations of the store.

Prairie Roots Food Co-op’s board is made up of member-owners who represent the collective vision for the future of the co-op. There are currently 5 officers serving on the Prairie Roots Board of Directors. Please use the board’s designated email address to contact them:

Meet the Prairie Roots Board of Directors

Jenn Faul, 1st Vice President
Membership Committee

Jenn Faul is a mental health professional who has been practicing in our community for the past 15 years.  Jenn has been interested in the way the food we consume effects not only our physical health, but how it also effects mental health.  Jenn resides in rural Cass County and in her spare time enjoys organic gardening, running, kayaking, camping/hiking and spending time with friends and family. 

Gretchen Harvey, Secretary
Membership Committee

Gretchen has taught American history since 1987 and is currently a member of the History Department at Concordia College in Moorhead, MN. She has degrees from the University of Massachusetts, the University of Wyoming and Arizona State University.

Gretchen’s passion for quality food is rooted in her family’s food traditions and her early work experience in family-owned restaurants.  In 1989, she helped found Bluestem Prairie Buying Club, a member of Common Health Foods Cooperative in Superior. WI.  From 2003-09, she served on the board of the Probstfield Farm Living History Foundation, Inc. and established its organic community garden. In 2010, she supervised the creation of a teaching garden at Concordia College.   

Gretchen brings her experiences in education and her passion for developing a strong, localized food system to the Board of Prairie Roots Food Cooperative.  Gretchen also serves on the Membership Committee.

Tim Mathern, President
Coordinating Committee

Tim Mathern has served in elective office in the North Dakota Senate since 1986.  He is a member of three cooperatives; a bookstore, gas station, and credit union. He has degrees from North Dakota State University, University of Nebraska and Harvard University. 

He serves on a number of boards and committees including Bush Foundation, University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences and Common Enterprise Development Corporation.

Tim has been employed at nonprofits including Catholic Charities and Nativity Church. Presently he is the Public Policy Director at Prairie St. John’s.  He grew up on a farm near Edgeley, ND.

Prairie Roots Food Cooperative benefits from Tim’s experience in organizational development, insight into legislative process and knowledge of human service and health issues.

Noreen Thomas
Membership Committee

Steve Noack, Treasurer
Finance Committee